I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 25 (LS)

As amended.

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio James V. Espaldon <u>Frank F. Blas, Jr.</u> Edward J.B. Calvo Mark Forbes Judith Paulette Guthertz Frank T. Ishizaki J. A. Lujan Tina Rose Muña Barnes A. B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio D. L.G. Shimizu A. R. Unpingco J. T. Won Pat

Relative to recognizing the Laguna Association of Guam on its Seventh (7th) Anniversary, to congratulating the 2006 Officers, Board of Directors and Advisors, and to express *un* dångkolo' na si Yu'os ma'åse' to its members for their many valuable contributions to the people of Guam.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN

2 GUÅHAN:

3 WHEREAS, the families of Afuang, Agbada/Cahinhinan, Baldemor, 4 Baet/Gagaring and San Agustin from the remote town of Paete, the Milano 5 family from Pila, and Guevara family from Santa Cruz, Laguna, Philippines formed the Laguna Association of Guam on January 17, 2000 to foster
 camaraderie and service to our island through forty-eight (48) individuals
 representing twenty-eight (28) families; and

WHEREAS, Charter Officers and Board of Directors were elected at the
initial membership meeting of January 30, 2000 and Mrs. Nelia Cahinhinan,
the first elected President, presided over the Charter Inauguration and formal
induction of the Laguna Association of Guam Officers and Board of Directors
on May 28, 2000; and

9 WHEREAS, the Association's membership follows to promote 10 brotherhood and protects the interest of its members, but invites all residents 11 of Guam to become adopted sons and daughters of the historical province of 12 Laguna, 'The Resort Province of the Philippines'; and

WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam has enjoyed substantial
membership growth from twenty-eight (28) families to one hundred sixty-two
(162) families with three hundred (300) individuals; and

16 WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam has received accolades 17 from organizations such as the Guam Community College, for its donations to 18 the Scholarship Fund, the Make a Wish Foundation, and the Filipino 19 Community of Guam; and

WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam was awarded the Best
Cultural display at the Pista Sa Nayon festivities 2003 held at Governor Joseph
Flores Beach Park, Tumon and continues its Christmas caroling for our island
residents; and

24 WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam has preserved its cultural 25 heritage through the purchase and unveiling of a bust of Dr. Jose Rizal, the Philippine's National Hero, in conjunction with the Rizal Day, December 30,
 2003, and the building, restoration and beautification of the Laguna shelter at
 Greg D. Perez Marina in *Hagåtña*; and

WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam is a proud part of our
island's Filipino society of Guam and is dedicated to giving back to our island
and to improving the quality of life for those less fortunate right here at home;
and

WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam will celebrate its Seventh 8 9 (7th) Anniversary on April 28, 2007 at the Westin Resort Guam and will commend the hard work of the 2006 Officers, Mr. Rene Valenzuela, President; 10 Mr. Alex Gagaring, Vice President; Ms. Evangeline "Baby" Lasanas, 11 Corresponding Secretary; Ms. Enrie Abaya, Recording Secretary; Ms. Letty 12 13 Treasurer; Ms. Rose Milano, Assistant Treasurer; Mr. Rudy Villas, 14 Cahinhinan, Auditor; Ms. Rose Roberto, Business Manager; Mrs. Ellie 15 Baldemor, Assistant Business Manager; Mrs. Jovy Valenzuela, Public Relations Officer; Messrs. Jeffrey Guevara, Narsing Lasanas and Rufino 16 Elomina, Peace Officers; and its Board of Directors, Mr. Eddie Abaya, Mr. 17 Angel Baldemor, Mr. Ebbs Baldoz, Mrs. Nancy Baldoz, Mrs. Rina Basbas, Mr. 18 Mario Briones, Mrs. Araceli Cariaga, Mr. Narciso Custodio, Ms. Grace 19 20 Evangelista, Mr. Jojo Guevara, Mr. Nanding Guevarra, Ms. Aida Miranda, Mr. Dan Romulo, Ms. Lolit Tuazon and Ms. Tess Veracruz; its Advisors, Mrs. 21 22 Nelia Cahinhinan, Dr. Jose Cariaga, Mr. Quirino Basbas, Mr. Joe Guevara, Ms. Sonnie Hetzel, Mr. Willie Miranda and Mr. Joe T. San Agustin, and will 23 recognize its members who are the driving force behind the Association's 24 valuable contributions to the people of Guam; now, therefore, be it 25

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does
 hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, commend the 2006 Officers, Board of
 Directors and Advisors and the members of the Laguna Association of Guam
 for a job well done; and be it further

5 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the 6 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be 7 thereafter transmitted to Mr. Rene Valenzuela, 2006 President, Laguna 8 Association of Guam; to the Honorable Teresita Mendiola, Philippine 9 Consulate General; to the Honorable Teresita S. Lazaro, Governor, Laguna 10 Province, Philippines; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen* 11 *Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 9^{TH} DAY OF APRIL 2007.

RAY TENORIO RBES peaker

RAY TENORIO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature